Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

The PostThe Post


India Announces Zimbabwe T20I Squad: Kohli and Sharma Rested, Gill to Captain

Despite the global attention on the T20 World Cup 2024, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is quietly preparing for the Indian cricket team’s tour of Zimbabwe for five T20 matches.

Scheduled to begin on July 6, this tour will feature India’s emerging cricket talents, as established players such as Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and Jasprit Bumrah will be rested. Key players like Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav have also reportedly opted out of the Zimbabwe tour.

In the absence of these senior players, Shubman Gill is likely to be appointed as the captain for the Zimbabwe series, according to a report by the Indian Express. The squad will include several promising players from the Indian Premier League, including Abhishek Sharma, Riyan Parag, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Tushar Deshpande, and Harshit Rana, signaling a focus on the next generation of Indian cricket talent.

India Announces Zimbabwe T20I Squad Kohli and Sharma Rested, Gill to Captain

India Announces Zimbabwe T20I Squad Kohli and Sharma Rested, Gill to Captain

Additionally, players like Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Rinku Singh, who are currently with the Indian team in the USA and West Indies for the T20 World Cup, will also be part of the squad. Shubman Gill and pacer Avesh Khan, who were part of the reserve team traveling to the USA, were sent back but are expected to join the Zimbabwe tour.

There remains uncertainty about who will coach the Indian team for the Zimbabwe series. With the potential appointment of Gautam Gambhir as India’s new head coach still unresolved, VVS Laxman, head of the National Cricket Academy, is expected to accompany the team to Zimbabwe along with several other coaches.

It is anticipated that the new coach, likely Gambhir, will officially take over for the subsequent tour of Sri Lanka, starting on July 27.

The probable Indian squad for the Zimbabwe T20I series includes Shubman Gill as captain, with players like Ruturaj Gaikwad, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson as wicketkeeper, Abhishek Sharma, Nitish Reddy, Harshit Rana, Yash Dayal, Khalil Ahmed, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Riyan Parag, Rajat Patidar, and Dhruv Jurel also being part of the team.

This lineup reflects a blend of youthful energy and potential, aiming to give upcoming talents a platform to showcase their skills on the international stage.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


As the aftermath of Storm Babet continues to unfold in England, the once-peaceful terrain has been transformed into a watery grave, threatening the lives...


Calling all K-Pop fans! Get ready to welcome a new boy group to the scene. NV Entertainment, home to the girl group Woo!ah!, is...


Oscar Hoyle, who runs Blossom, a support service for LGBTQ+ Gen Z, notes that politics is unavoidable for the transgender and non-binary young adults...


The PUBG x NewJeans collaboration has hit a snag. While the collaboration aimed to bring fans of both parties closer together, some users have...