Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

The PostThe Post


India Clinches Second T20 World Cup Title in Thrilling Final Against South Africa

India clinched their second T20 World Cup title in a thrilling final against South Africa, marking a historic moment in Indian cricket. The match, held in Barbados, saw India emerging victorious by defending a challenging total against a resilient South African side.

Despite a tense phase where South Africa seemed poised for victory, India’s bowlers, led by Jasprit Bumrah and supported by Arshdeep Singh and Hardik Pandya, staged a remarkable comeback in the death overs to secure victory.

The win was not only celebrated for its sporting significance but also for the emotional farewells it marked. Both captain Rohit Sharma and star batsman Virat Kohli announced their retirements from T20 Internationals post-match, alongside Ravindra Jadeja, who also bid adieu to T20Is while continuing in other formats.

The final also marked the end of Rahul Dravid’s tenure as head coach of the Indian team, adding a sentimental layer to the victory.

India Clinches Second T20 World Cup Title in Thrilling Final Against South Africa

India Clinches Second T20 World Cup Title in Thrilling Final Against South Africa

Reactions poured in from across the spectrum, highlighting the magnitude of India’s achievement. Prime Minister Narendra Modi and cricketing icons like Sachin Tendulkar and Mahendra Singh Dhoni expressed their elation over India’s first T20 World Cup win in 13 years.

The triumph underscored India’s resilience and tactical acumen under pressure, as articulated by Rohit Sharma, who praised his team’s unity and determination in crucial moments.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a record-breaking prize money of Rs 125 crore for the victorious team, reflecting the significance of the occasion and the team’s stellar performance throughout the tournament.

India’s victory in the T20 World Cup 2024 not only added another jewel to their cricketing crown but also marked a fitting culmination to a period where they had narrowly missed out on major titles in other formats of the game.

T20 World Cup Winners and Runners-Up History

2007 South Africa India Pakistan
2009 England Pakistan Sri Lanka
2010 West Indies England Australia
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies Sri Lanka
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka India
2016 India West Indies England
2021 UAE and Oman Australia New Zealand
2022 Australia England Pakistan
2024 USA and West Indies India South Africa
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Oscar Hoyle, who runs Blossom, a support service for LGBTQ+ Gen Z, notes that politics is unavoidable for the transgender and non-binary young adults...


As the aftermath of Storm Babet continues to unfold in England, the once-peaceful terrain has been transformed into a watery grave, threatening the lives...


The PUBG x NewJeans collaboration has hit a snag. While the collaboration aimed to bring fans of both parties closer together, some users have...


Calling all K-Pop fans! Get ready to welcome a new boy group to the scene. NV Entertainment, home to the girl group Woo!ah!, is...